Getting Interesting

It’s been a long time, sorry!  The grocery shopping at Lemon Street Market and Central Market has become pretty easy.  It’s almost second nature to bring containers for everything that we are going to need.  Some interesting items have come up though.

We need new sheets for our bed as ours are falling apart.  As far as we can tell you can’t buy sheets without them coming in that big plastic wrapper.  Apart from getting them used, I think we might have to make them.  For now we are making do with using some sheets that don’t quite fit our bed – a flat sheet instead of a fitted sheet, etc.  If you’ve ever tried that, you know that it sort of works, but can be annoying.  Pretty soon I’m going to actually do some sewing and try to fashion something that actually clings to the bed.  The funny thing is that I remember my dad fashioning some crazy thing like that when I was little and I thought he was crazy and I thought I would never do anything so silly when one could just go out and buy sheets.

We knew that the time would come when we had to make choices about our health and the health of our children, and we promised not to sacrifice anybody’s health to our game.  When the girls needed new toothbrush heads for their electric toothbrushes, I bought them.  We have too many cavity issues to revert to regular brushes.  One small victory, however, is that the dentist recommended disclosing tablets so we could see where the plaque was after they brushed.  I found a distributor of disclosing tablets that packs them in cellophane, not plastic.  100% biodegradable!   I also got diagnosed with a vitamin-D deficiency and the one they wanted me to take came in INDIVIDUALLY wrapped plastic packets.  Sheesh.  Anyway, I bought them.

I had an amusing call from the local newspaper.  They said, “We’d like to get you back on our regular delivery.  We have a special deal for you…..”  I let her finish and then I said, “We’ll start back up just as soon as you can deliver them in something other than plastic.”  There was a pause while she came to terms with the fact that this excuse was nowhere on her script.  She responded, “That’s the only way we do it!”  And I said, “Okay, well, as soon as you figure out another way, call me back!”  And I hung up.  My uncle just pointed out that we should see if we can make a newspaper delivery box like people used to have (and maybe still do?).  Then we could assure them that even if it were delivered without a bag that it would still stay dry.  I think I actually like not getting the paper, so this might not be one I push on.

I also would like to admit that I haven’t managed to not consume plastic when I travel on business.  Next business trip I go on (May 2) I’m going to try to not consume/use/purchase plastic the whole trip.  I’ll have to bring my own mug for Starbucks, not get any Kind bars there either, not have a drink on the plane, and not order any food to take-out.

 

5 responses to “Getting Interesting

  1. About newspapers: I had the same response as you last summer. Last month, we built a newspaper box, and I called Lancaster News and asked them to tell my carrier to not bring more plastic bags. It helps to get your carrier’s name — mine is a terrif guy. He has given me two plastic bags since then, both on rainy days. I’m guessing if I called him directly I could reduce even further. But I get naked newspapers now. For what it’s worth, I showed the box on my own post at (http://miser-mom.blogspot.com/2012/03/get-lots-of-free-stuff.html).

  2. Andrea, as far as the sheets have you looked into organic sheets on ETSY? I believe you may be able to find a seller who would be of the same mind as you in regards to plastic…also I just saw on Pinterest there is a recipe for making your own Kind bars— her is my pin for this http://pinterest.com/pin/243616661063219996/
    Hope that helps :o)

    BettyK

  3. I’ve gotten sheets from Gaiam that came in a little cloth bag of the same fabric. You could call and ask which one’s do, and ask them not to include those inflated plastic bags in the box.

    • Ooh I’ll try it. I did kind of okay sewing pieces of my old fitted-sheet to a top-sheet that I already had, but the bed sort of falls apart every 3 days. The last inflated plastic bags I got were biodegradable or at least claimed to be! But I will ask for them to skip that part, because a sheet doesn’t need to protected in such a manner.

Leave a Reply

