Mission: Travel with zero-plastic-consumption

I decided I needed to try traveling without consuming plastic.  Here I am on the plane to LAX having not ‘consumed’ any plastic yet.  What do I mean by “consumed”?  I basically mean that I don’t buy or accept anything that has plastic in it.  So far so good.  I packed lots of snacks (although I ate them all already) and managed to get my drink on the plane without the plastic cup.  In this frame of mind I can tell you that the Philadelphia airport looked like shop after shop selling plastic-wrapped stuff.  There was plastic everywhere I looked – plastic water bottles, fruit-cups in plastic, candy in plastic, styrofoam take-out containers, plastic silverware.  I discovered that if you BUY NOTHING it’s pretty easy to not buy plastic.  When you actually get hungry it gets a little trickier.  I have with me a set of silverware and a mug, so if I found take-out that came in paper or cardboard, I might be able to get take-out.  My thought, however, is that I’m just going to actually sit down and eat in restaurants instead of get stuff to take away.  This is going to seriously interrupt my usual style of grab and go.  Perhaps that’s a good thing.

The other extra things I packed that I don’t usually are (1)soap, in case the hotel soap comes in plastic and (2) shampoo for the same reason.  For clarity, my shampoo bottle is plastic, but it was purchased last year and I am regarding it as a permanent item in my life.

For those of you just tuning in, or perhaps for those of you who have forgotten what’s going on here because it’s been so long since my last post, the idea behind all of this is to spend a year regarding plastic items as items that are with us for the long haul on the earth – as things that will last 1,000 or 10,000 years, because they probably will – rather than as cheap things that can be disposed of easily.

Landing in LAX is going to be an interesting test, because I’m going to be starving and tired and will need food.  Stay tuned….

Leave a Reply

